The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

Primary 1.3 was learning to identify the different stages in the life cycle of a butterfly.

The children worked around three stations.  At station 1 was a writing activity where the children had to identify what happened at each stage in the life cycle and write about it. At station 2 the children made symmetrical butterflies and at station 3 the children worked with the teacher, using inflatable resources to describe the different stages of the life cycle.

After the lesson the children were then asked to identify what they were successful at during the lesson and anything else they would like to know about the life cycle of a butterfly. This is what they said…

 Adam C

“I     wos     good    at   the  butflei.”

 I was good at the butterfly.

 

Ashton

“I wood lieec to lern abowt how butr  flay grown”

 I would like to learn about how a butterfly grows.

 

Daniel

“I wot to  lern hou to labt hou rit butfli”                                                                                                                                                                                             

 I want to learn how to write butterfly.

 

Daniel C

“I  was sucsefel at butterflys. And smectral . I need to warc on writing I was struggling”

I was successful at learning about butterflies and making them symmetrical.  I need to work on writing about the different stages as I was struggling.

 

Emma

“I wave  I sefoa at macn patn.   

Iwosit good atmy at the pairs.”

I was successful at making patterns on the butterfly.  I was not so successful at the pairs game.

 

Josh

“i   wosas foaatbutarflaees                   butflaeeslaeegs   I         wos             not          asefoaatmyrieent.”

I was successful at learning about butterflies.  I was not so successful at writing about butterflies.

 

Lauren

“I        wos   good     at        panting      a         buter    flay   ,             I             was  

Good         at     miss     faizrs          staishn,    the   pairs                 I  find      chricee    the     jigsos,  tricy ,”

I was good at painting a butterfly and I was good at Miss Fraser’s station during the pairs game.  I find the life cycle jigsaws tricky.                                                   

 

 Matthew

“I luoc to pant a Butterfly.”

 I liked painting a butterfly.

 

Molly

“I wos sesfo cos I manij to maic a butturfly

I wos sesfo cos  I wos nurlay got ol of the cards.”

I was successful because I managed to make a butterfly.  I was successful because I nearly got all of the cards in the pairs game.

 

Sam

“I  is setef  a bly  butafiy biain”

 I was successful at making my butterfly.

 

Sara

“I was esesil  at  maicing my patern on my buter thlays . And I was esesil  at riyting my  buter thlay   booc.I was not  et  sethl at  buter  thlay  pairs.”

I was successful at making a pattern on my butterfly.  I was also successful at writing my butterfly book but I was not as successful at the pairs game.

 

Zoe

“I was sukseful to paint the butterfly sumemichcl .”

I was successful at painting a symmetrical butterfly.

 Image

One thought on “The Life Cycle of a Butterfly

  1. Primary 1.3 were all very successful at being able to identify the different stages in the life cycle of a butterfly and also at creating their own symmetrical butterfly.

Leave a Reply

